The Zam

“The Zam”: a community centre imbued with history

The area surrounding the Hungarian Lake Balaton is known as a place for architectural experiments. 120 small communities strive to attract the tourists’ attention and distinguish themselves with conspicuous buildings. With around 2,000 inhabitants, the village of Zamárdi is one of these places and has a community centre you cannot overlook. This is mainly connected to its futuristic design, which is characterised by an inherent historical connection.

The Zam, Lake Balaton, Zamárdi, shingle
The Zam, plan

Seeing and being seen

Ugly and beautiful, cold and vibrant, fitting and in the way. All of these things have been said about the latest experiment on the shores of Lake Balaton in Hungary. “The Zam” is the community centre of Zamárdi and a building everyone appears to have their own opinion about. It is important to be seen here, for in addition to its extraordinary appearance, its use is also special. For about two months every year – at the peak of the tourist season – you can expect up to 40,000 tourists here, so you naturally want to have something to offer. Readings, concerts, exhibitions and other events take place in the 300 m2 large multi-purpose building, which also has a terrace with a view of Lake Balaton. “The community was looking for an iconic building,” the architect Géza Kendik of Studio A4 tells us. “At the same time, we didn’t want to create something that is oversized, as it is only used by the local population the rest of the year.”

Architect Géza Kendik
Géza Kendik

A historical appearance

The modern construction is located in a historically exceptional area, which feeds into both the form of the building and the choice of material. In the 70s, a gigantic Avar graveyard from the 16th century was found close by. The Avar kingdom was considered to be the most important power factor between the Frankish and the Eastern Roman Empire for more than 200 years. They believed in life after death, which is why also numerous pieces of jewellery, among them several steel elements, the dead were gifted with for their next life were discovered on the 25,000 m2 large site. “I wanted an appearance which resembles that of the discovered rings,” Kendik reveals. “The light grey PREFA shingles significantly resemble the historical jewellery.” For the small radii of the façade, the craftsman used an individual solution by cutting the shingles and fitting them to the curves. “A material you can cut is not that easy to find. PREFA is perfectly suited for that and also very good for the windy shores of Lake Balaton,” states Kendik.

The Zam, shingle, Lake Balaton

A building without windows?

The interior of the community centre is equally interesting. This round building contains an exhibition room in which the architect would like to see the findings from the graveyard presented as well. From an acoustic perspective, the round walls make the room an ideal location for concerts and other performances. “If you are standing in the middle, you almost feel like you are in a sacred building,” as Kendic raves. “The great thing is that you are in contact with the space and the audience, but also with the exterior.” For the only point where natural light enters the otherwise windowless building is in the middle. “You feel the sunlight differently depending on the time of day, you hear the rain, each time of the year has a different effect on the interior.” In the adjacent building section, visitors attending the events can find the buffet, a souvenir shop and toilets.

The Zam, exhibition room

The proof of the pudding is in the eating

“If I had to describe the building in one word, it would be ‘experiment’ because people in the area around Lake Balaton always try out something new. And that’s what we did,” says Kendik. The round-shaped buildings made of reinforced concrete from the 50s and 60s you find here are particularly noticeable. Very few of them have solely one function, but were also equipped with restaurants, bars or sports facilities. “In the meantime, experiments of this kind are quite common in the communities and are even initiated by private individuals. And that was our model for the design.” “The Zam” became an experiment because, for a long time, the team of architects was not sure whether the futuristic design fits the function. “As an architect, this was a great possibility for me to not only carry out my experiments on paper, but to realise them on a living building.” According to him, you can tell that the project is a success because it makes people think: You stop, look at it and want to approach it.

The Zam, night, shingle

Anything but ordinary

“A typical A4 building does not exist,” Géza Kednik explains. He founded the studio in 1992 and turns every project into a kind of internal competition. People from all age groups work at his architectural office, part of them with a technical background, the other part from the area of applied art. “I like this mix of different people,” he tells us. “This way, we unite very many different styles and approaches, which are also reflected in our buildings.” Every day, he takes half an hour’s time to take a look at “what is happening in the world of architecture.” This helps him stay up to date and not become old fashioned – a philosophy which made “The ZAM” a success.

The Zam, night, shingle
arrow_forward

The Zam

Country: Hungary
Building, location: community centre, Zamárdi
Category: new construction
Architecture: Studio A4, Géza Kendik
Installer: ICH Mérnök Kft.
Material: ➔ shingle
Colour: P.10 light grey

ⓘ Object-related individual solution

Text & Interview: Marco Steurer
Photos: © Tamás Bujnovszky
Plan: © Studio A4

CLUE

With the PREFARENZEN dialogue platform, PREFA created a forum for the further development of innovative and architecturally sophisticated roof and façade solutions made of aluminium.

This site uses cookies to ensure the functionality of this website. While some are essential for use, Analytics & Performance Cookies can be used to personalize relevant content and advertising placements.MORE

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

The Zam

„The Zam“: ein Gemeindezentrum mit Geschichte

Das Gebiet rund um den ungarischen Plattensee gilt als Raum für architektonische Experimente. 120 kleine Gemeinden buhlen um die Aufmerksamkeit der Touristen und profilieren sich durch auffällige Bauten. Auch das Dorf Zamárdi mit etwa 2.000 Einwohnern ist einer dieser Orte und hat ein Gemeindezentrum, welches man unmöglich übersehen kann. Das liegt vor allem an der futuristischen Gestaltung, der eine historische Verbindung innewohnt.

The Zam, Plattensee, Zamárdi, Schindel
The Zam, Plan

Sehen und gesehen werden

Hässlich und schön, kalt und lebendig, passend und im Weg. Was man nicht alles sagen kann über das neueste Experiment am Plattensee in Ungarn. „The Zam“ ist das Gemeindezentrum des Ortes Zamárdi und ein Gebäude, zu welchem wohl jeder seine eigene Meinung hat. Wichtig ist hier gesehen zu werden, denn neben der außergewöhnlichen Erscheinung ist es auch in der Nutzung besonders. Für etwa zwei Monate im Jahr – nämlich in der touristischen Hochsaison – ist hier mit bis zu 40.000 Touristen zu rechnen, denen man auch einiges bieten möchte. Lesungen, Konzerte, Ausstellungen und andere Veranstaltungen finden im 300 m2 großen Mehrzweckgebäude statt, zudem gibt es eine Terrasse mit Blick auf den Plattensee. „Die Gemeinde suchte nach einem ikonischen Gebäude“, erzählt uns der Architekt Géza Kendik von Studio A4. „Gleichzeitig wollten wir aber nichts Überdimensionales kreieren, weil es den Rest des Jahres nur von der lokalen Bevölkerung genutzt wird.“

Architekt Géza Kendik
Géza Kendik

Historische Optik

Die moderne Konstruktion befindet sich in einer historisch unvergleichlichen Gegend, welche sowohl in die Form des Gebäudes als auch in die Materialauswahl einfließt. In den 70ern hat man in der Nähe einen gigantischen Awaren-Friedhof aus dem 16. Jahrhundert entdeckt. Das Reich der Awaren zählte über 200 Jahre lang als der wichtigste Machtfaktor zwischen dem Fränkischen und Oströmischen Reich. Sie glaubten an ein Leben nach dem Tod, weswegen auf dem 25.000 m2 großen Areal auch zahlreiche Schmuckstücke gefunden wurden, darunter viele Stahlelemente, die man den Toten ins nächste Leben mitgab. „Ich wollte eine Optik, die jenen der gefundenen Ringe ähnelt“, verrät Kendik. „Die hellgrauen PREFA Dachschindeln kommen dem historischen Schmuck farblich sehr nah.“ Für die kleinen Radien der Fassade arbeitete der Handwerker mit einer Sonderlösung, indem er die Schindeln zugeschnitten und an die Rundungen angepasst hat. „Ein Material, das du schneiden kannst, ist nicht so leicht zu finden. PREFA ist dafür perfekt geeignet und zudem sehr gut für das windige Ufer des Plattensees“, so Kendik.

The Zam, Schindel, Plattensee

Ein Gebäude ohne Fenster?

Das Innere des Gemeindezentrums ist nicht weniger interessant. Eben dieses runde Gebäude beherbergt einen Ausstellungsraum, für den sich der Architekt wünscht, dass die Fundstücke des Friedhofs dort auch präsentiert werden. Die runden Wände machen den Raum akustisch zum idealen Ort für Konzerte und andere Vorstellungen. „Wenn du in der Mitte stehst, fühlst du dich fast wie in einem Sakralbau“, schwärmt Kendik. „Das Großartige ist, dass du dort sowohl mit dem Raum und dem Publikum in Kontakt bist als auch mit dem Äußeren.“ In der Mitte befindet sich nämlich der einzige Punkt des ansonsten fensterlosen Gebäudes, wo natürliches Licht hineingelangt. „Man fühlt die Sonne zu jeder Tageszeit anders, man hört den Regen, jede Jahreszeit wirkt sich auf das Innere unterschiedlich aus“. Im angrenzenden Gebäudeteil finden die Besucher der Veranstaltungen das Buffet, einen Souvenirladen sowie Toiletten.

The Zam, Ausstellungssaal

Probieren geht über Studieren

„Wenn ich das Gebäude mit einem Wort beschreiben müsste, dann wäre das ‚Versuch‘, weil man im Gebiet um den Plattensee ständig Neues ausprobiert. Und das haben auch wir gemacht“, sagt Kendik. Auffällig sind dort besonders die rundförmigen Gebäude aus Stahlbeton, die aus den 50er und 60er Jahren stammen. Wenige von ihnen haben nur eine Funktion, sondern wurden auch mit Restaurants, Bars oder Sportmöglichkeiten ausgestattet. „Experimente dieser Art gibt es mittlerweile oft in den Gemeinden und sogar von Privatpersonen. Und das war unser Vorbild für den Entwurf.“ Zum Versuch wurde „The Zam“, weil man sich lange nicht sicher war, ob das futuristische Design zur Funktion passt. „Für mich als Architekt war das eine große Möglichkeit, meine Versuche nicht nur auf dem Papier zu machen, sondern an einem lebenden Gebäude zu verwirklichen.“ Dass das Projekt gelungen ist, merke man daran, dass es die Leute beschäftigt: Man bleibt stehen, sieht hin und möchte hineingehen.

The Zam, Nacht, Schindel

Alles außer gewöhnlich

„Ein typisches A4-Gebäude gibt es nicht“, erklärt Géza Kendik, der das Studio 1992 gegründet hat und aus jedem Projekt eine Art internen Wettbewerb macht. In seinem Architekturbüro arbeiten Menschen aus allen Altersgruppen, ein Teil mit technischem Hintergrund, ein Teil aus der angewandten Kunst. „Ich mag diesen Mix an unterschiedlichen Leuten“, erzählt er. „Dadurch vereinen wir sehr viele verschiedene Stile und Ansichten, die sich auch in unseren Gebäuden widerspiegeln.“ Er selbst nimmt sich jeden Tag eine halbe Stunde Zeit, um sich anzusehen, „was in der Welt der Architektur so passiert“. Dies helfe ihm vor allem, am Puls der Zeit zu bleiben und nicht altmodisch zu werden – eine Philosophie, die das Experiment „The Zam“ zum Erfolg geführt hat.

The Zam, Nacht, Schindel
arrow_forward

The Zam

Land: Ungarn
Objekt, Ort: Gemeindezentrum, Zamárdi
Kategorie: Neubau
Architektur: Studio A4, Géza Kendik
Verarbeiter: ICH Mérnök Kft.
Material: ➔ Dachschindel
Farbe: P.10 Hellgrau

ⓘ Objektbezogene Sonderlösung

Text & Interview: Marco Steurer
Fotos: © Tamás Bujnovszky
Plan: © Studio A4

CLUE

PREFA hat mit der Dialog-Plattform PREFARENZEN ein Forum zur Weiterentwicklung innovativer und architektonisch hochwertiger Dach- und Fassadenlösungen aus Aluminium geschaffen.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.