Smaltovňa – an old enamel factory in new splendor

Enamel factory, Smaltovna, lateral view, aluminium roof, Prefalz, plain aluminium

The Slovakian city of Lučenec has an unusual landmark – an enamel factory from the year 1892. For decades, enamel kitchenware was produced here and exported all over Europe. After a standstill, the building complex was filled with new life thanks to the initiative of a bold investor. This resulted in modern office and storage spaces, a restaurant and a shimmering PREFA roof.

Bird’s eye view, aluminium roof, Prefalz, plain aluminium

Two are better than one

The Slovakian architect Stefan Polakovič and his partner Lukáš Kordík call their office “GutGut” – which translates to “GoodGood” in English – because they want to be better than just good. They have proven that they are masters of their craft several times. With their successful transformation of a building material factory into an office and residential building, they managed to be recognised with one of the best 40 works in the race for the Mies van der Rohe Award in 2019. “I don’t know if we’re experts in the conversion of older buildings, but these projects somehow suit us,” founder Polakovič tells us.

Interior view, brick wall, white ceiling

A unique atmosphere

Milan Kovalančík, the entrepreneur and owner of the enamel factory in Lučenec, wanted to preserve the building’s historical soul and still give it a new function. “When we first visited the site, we saw right away how much potential the old factory building had,” Polakovič remembers. “In order to keep the unique atmosphere alive, we maintained as much as possible of the old substance.”

Analysing, drawing, building

The experience they had gained in previous projects helped them in this endeavour: coring, analysing, planning. “We basically drew on one day and built on the next,” Polakovič reveals. “With projects like these, you have to be careful and flexible at the same time.” For this purpose, the construction work was split into two phases. In the first one, they focused on the southern tower, the extension as well as the connecting tract. To meet today’s standards, the statics in the two-storey tower were improved with steel girders. The ground floor accomodates the entrance hall, through which you can access the offices and the restaurant, as well as a connecting tract that serves as a storage. The investor’s new offices were created right above them. The second phase concerns the second tower, where flats are to be realised.

Interior view, wooden ceiling, glass wall, white, red, open door, cat

A roof with a recess

A terrace was integrated in the existing roof on the new third level. For this purpose, the roof truss was converted and covered with Prefalz in plain aluminium, without changing the overall appearance of the Smaltovňa complex. “Personally, I have only had good experiences with PREFA products and use the various colours and surfaces according to the respective task,” says Polakovič. He adds that the shimmering aluminium has become a little more matt in the meantime, but the patina that perfectly matches the object only underlines the liveliness of the hustle and bustle inside the revitalised project.

Everything for a natural appearance

First, the bricks of the building were exposed. Similar to the roof, everything that was newly added inside should remain readable at first glance and be clearly distinguishable from the original substance. This is reflected in the glass walls which separate the office spaces and simultaneously create transparency and light, the corrugated iron wall between the office area and the restaurant, the steel columns that were retracted to additionally support the building. “A material finds its greatest expression if it is used without an additional treatment or colours,” Polakovič states.

Worm’s eye view, interior view, roof truss, railing

Beyond tradition

The office managed by Stefan Polakovič and Lukáš Kordík has 14 employees. There is “a lot of young blood” here, whereby the projects and assignments are as diverse as its team. “Our customers expect particular designs and like to be surprised,” says Polakovič. He and his partner also teach at different universities, where they pass their knowledge on to the next generation, encouraging it to solve architectural tasks differently than expected. With their conversion of the enamel factory inLučenec, they were able to impressively demonstrate that they have fared well with this attitude.

Lateral view, Smaltovna
arrow_forward

Smaltovňa

Country: Slovakia
Building, location: multi-purpose building, Lučenec
Category: conversion
Architecture: GutGut
Installer: Strechy Martin Lóh
Material: ➔ Prefalz
Colour: plain aluminium

ⓘ Object-related individual solution

Text: Marco Steurer & Carl Bender
Interview: Marco Steurer
Photos: © mobilonline.sk

CLUE

With the PREFARENZEN dialogue platform, PREFA created a forum for the further development of innovative and architecturally sophisticated roof and façade solutions made of aluminium.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

Smaltovňa – ein altes Emaillierwerk in neuem Glanz

Emaillierwerk, Smaltovna, Lučenec, Seitenansicht, Aluminiumdach, Prefalz, naturblank

Die Stadt Lučenec in der Slowakei hat ein ungewöhnliches Wahrzeichen – ein Emaillierwerk aus dem Jahr 1892. Jahrzehntelang wurde hier Emaillegeschirr produziert und nach ganz Europa exportiert. Nach einer Zeit des Stillstands gelang es durch die Initiative eines mutigen Investors, dem Gebäudekomplex eine neue Seele einzuhauchen. Entstanden sind moderne Büro- und Lagerräume, ein Restaurant und ein schimmerndes PREFA Dach.

Vogelperspektive, Aluminiumdach, Prefalz, naturblank

Doppelt hält besser

Der slowakische Architekt Stefan Polakovič und sein Partner Lukáš Kordík nennen ihr Büro „GutGut“, weil sie besser sein wollen als nur gut. Dass sie ihr Handwerk besonders gut beherrschen, haben sie bereits mehrfach bewiesen. Mit der gelungenen Transformation einer Baustofffabrik in ein Büro- und Wohngebäude schafften sie es 2019 unter die besten 40 Arbeiten im Rennen um den Mies van der Rohe Award. „Ich weiß nicht, ob wir Experten sind, wenn es um die Umgestaltung von älteren Gebäuden geht, aber diese Projekte passen irgendwie zu uns“, erzählt Gründer Polakovič.

Innenansicht, Backsteinmauer, weiße Decke

Einzigartige Atmosphäre

Der Unternehmer und Besitzer des Emaillierwerks in Lučenec Milan Kovalančík wollte die historische Seele des Gebäudes erhalten, ihm aber trotzdem eine neue Funktion geben. „Bei unserem ersten Besuch haben wir sofort gesehen, welches Potential in diesem alten Fabriksgebäude steckt“, erinnert sich Polakovič. „Um die einzigartige Atmosphäre zu bewahren, haben wir von der alten Substanz so viel wie möglich erhalten.“

Analysieren, zeichnen, bauen

Dabei kam ihnen die Erfahrung aus vorherigen Projekten zugute: entkernen, analysieren, planen. „Im Prinzip haben wir gezeichnet und am nächsten Tag gebaut“, erzählt Polakovič. „Bei derartigen Projekten muss man vorsichtig, aber auch flexibel sein.“ Dafür wurden die Bauarbeiten in zwei Phasen unterteilt. In der ersten widmete man sich dem südlichen Turm und dem Anbau sowie dem Verbindungstrakt. Um den jetzigen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden, wurde die Statik im zweigeschossigen Turm mit Stahlträgern nachgebessert. Im Parterre befinden sich die Eingangshalle, die den Zugang zu den Büros und zum Restaurant ermöglicht, sowie ein Verbindungstrakt, der als Lager dient. Direkt darüber entstanden die neuen Büros des Investors. Die zweite Phase betrifft den zweiten Turm, in welchem Wohnungen entstehen sollen.

Innenansicht, Holzdecke, Glaswand, weiß, rot, offene Tür, Katze

Dach mit Einschnitt

Auf der neuen dritten Ebene wurde in das bestehende Dach eine Terrasse integriert. Dazu hat man den Dachstuhl umgebaut und mit Prefalz in Naturblank eingedeckt, ohne dabei den Gesamteindruck des Smaltovňa-Komplexes zu verändern. „Ich persönlich habe mit PREFA Produkten nur gute Erfahrungen gemacht und nutze die vielfältigen Farben und Oberflächen entsprechend der jeweiligen Aufgabenstellung“, erzählt Polakovič. Das schimmernde Aluminium sei zwar mittlerweile etwas matter geworden, aber die zum Objekt perfekt passende Patina unterstreiche lediglich die Lebhaftigkeit des regen Treibens im revitalisierten Projekt.

Alles für die Natürlichkeit

Zuerst hat man die Ziegel des Gebäudes freigelegt. Ähnlich wie beim Dach sollte auch innen alles, was neu hinzugekommen ist, auf den ersten Blick erkennbar sein und sich vom ursprünglichen Teil klar abheben. So trennen Glaswände die Büroräume und schaffen gleichzeitig Transparenz und Licht, eine Wellblechwand steht zwischen Firmenbereich und Restaurant, Stahlsäulen wurden eingezogen und stützen das Gebäude zusätzlich. „Die Aussagekraft eines Materials ist am stärksten, wenn es ohne zusätzliche Behandlung oder Farben verwendet wird“, sagt Polakovič.

Froschperspektive, Innenansicht, Dachstuhl, Geländer

Abseits von Tradition

14 Mitarbeiter hat das Büro, das Stefan Polakovič gemeinsam mit Lukáš Kordík leitet. „Viel junges Blut“ sei dort vertreten und die Projekte und Aufträge seien so unterschiedlich wie das Team. „Zu uns kommen Kunden, die sich spezielle Entwürfe erwarten und gerne überrascht werden wollen“, sagt Polakovič. Er und sein Partner unterrichten auch an verschiedenen Universitäten, wo sie ihr Wissen an die nächste Generation weitergeben und diese ermutigen, Architekturaufgaben anders zu lösen als erwartet. Dass sie mit dieser Grundhaltung bisher gut gefahren sind, haben sie mit ihrer Umnutzung des Emaillierwerks in Lučenec eindrucksvoll bewiesen.

Seitenansicht, Smaltovna
arrow_forward

Smaltovňa

Land: Slowakei
Objekt, Ort: Mehrzweckgebäude, Lučenec
Kategorie: Umbau
Architektur: GutGut
Verarbeiter: Strechy Martin Lóh
Material: ➔ Prefalz
Farbe: Naturblank

ⓘ Objektbezogene Sonderlösung

Text: Marco Steurer & Carl Bender
Interview: Marco Steurer
Fotos: © mobilonline.sk

CLUE

PREFA hat mit der Dialog-Plattform PREFARENZEN ein Forum zur Weiterentwicklung innovativer und architektonisch hochwertiger Dach- und Fassadenlösungen aus Aluminium geschaffen.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.