Ouvane – a trio of beach houses on Dublin Bay

Irish coast as far as you can see: In Sutton, Dublin, three modern, block-shaped residential houses with white walls and a dark Prefalz façade in P.10 anthracite have been resisting the rough weather conditions in Dublin Bay since spring 2019. With their striking design and dark hue, the stylish high-end homes designed by the architect Fred Wilson of Adrian Hill Architects stand out from the houses in their surroundings. A bold step that inspired other building projects in the area.

garden view, Ouvane, beach house, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Ireland, façade design, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 anthracite

Sudden changes in weather, lashing wind and a lot of rain: Those living in the Dublin Bay area are used to the whims of nature, but over the years, they can leave their traces on buildings located close to the sea. “We made a point of paying attention to durability and environmental friendliness when we were choosing the colour and material,” as the leading architect in the Ouvane project Fred Wilson tells us. He grew up here and knows the area like the back of his hand. This made it all the more special for him when his design of the Ouvane beach houses brought him back to Sutton, Dublin.

Fred Wilson, Adrian Hill, architects, at work
Adrian Hill (l.) and Fred Wilson (r.)

An architect’s vision

The office of Adrian Hill Architects is usually characterised by a lively atmosphere, but due to the Corona pandemic, things have quieted down. Normally, everyone works together and is constantly in contact with each other. “It is very important to us that we have a social atmosphere and also interact with one another on a personal level – even our clients call us on our private mobile phones,” as Fred Wilson explains. For the director of the Dublin-based architectural office, who specialises among other things in upscale residential buildings, projects like the trio of beach houses on Dublin Bay are nothing new. Still, there were a few design challenges that needed to be overcome. According to Wilson, “the property is wide but has a relatively narrow depth towards the beach. In addition, the buildings are right by a main road, while the back part is aligned in the direction of the beach.” The houses were a little tricky to design from a planning perspective, but the architect maintains that “this makes the design better, as you’re forced to think outside the box.”

street view, dusk, Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, three beach houses, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Ireland, façade design, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 anthracite
façade elements, façade details, façade design, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 anthracite

Quality design

The architects’ claim to “create buildings and spaces with a simple, consistent approach to quality design” is also reflected in the beach homes on Greenfield Road: The dark Prefalz façade was set before a white brick wall, which visually softens the façade. Moreover, the street side has differently sized windows that tempt you to get a glimpse inside. Whether you see to much? Not according to Wilson, for while a lot of glass and large window fronts were used on the side of the house facing the beach, the interiors of the street side are well protected from prying eyes.

Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, three beach houses, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Ireland, façade design, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 anthracite

A strong façade

Fred Wilson knew from the very beginning that the façade should be clad in metal, so his research quickly led him to PREFA. As he had already come into contact with PREFA products in other projects, he knew about their durability: “The colour lasts longer and we also wanted an eco-friendly solution,” as the architect explains. In the Ouvane project, the façade and the windows should have the same colour – not only to do justice to the overall composition of the design: While the three houses clearly stand out from their architectural surroundings, their dark hue causes them to blend in with the surrounding landscape when you look at them coming from the coast. Another striking colour accent: Depending on the weather and the time of day, the façade takes on different colours – from a cloudy grey to a dark shimmering blue.

view of the bay, beach, sea, Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, three beach houses, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Ireland

Prefalz on the Emerald Isle

Paul Johnston, Technical Sales Manager for Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, helped propose the idea of using Prefalz for the façade. He was in contact with the installer company PAD Roofing and drew their attention to the material. “Prefalz is perfect for standing seam roofing and cladding in Ireland. Aluminium is corrosion resistant, does not rust, and the Prefalz finishes are very resistant to the sea salt in the air. In addition, Prefalz is also in high demand due to the material and the colour guarantee,” as Johnston states. These are some of the reasons why this durable material is proving so popular on the Emerald Isle, which is famous for its rugged, picturesque coastline and changeable weather conditions. Over 150 tons of Prefalz Aluminium were sold in Ireland in 2020 – and according to Johnston, this trend looks like it is set to continue.

arrow_forward

Residential houses Ouvane

Country: Ireland
Building, location: residential houses, Ouvane
Category: new construction
Architecture: Adrian Hill Architects
Installer: Pad Roofing Ltd
Material: ➔ Prefalz
Colour: P.10 anthracite

Text and interview: Anneliese Heinisch
Photos: © Gareth Byrne Photography

CLUE

With the PREFARENZEN dialogue platform, PREFA created a forum for the further development of innovative and architecturally sophisticated roof and façade solutions made of aluminium.

This site uses cookies to ensure the functionality of this website. While some are essential for use, Analytics & Performance Cookies can be used to personalize relevant content and advertising placements.MORE

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

Ouvane – ein Strandhaus-Trio an der Dublin Bay

Irische Küste so weit das Auge reicht: In Sutton bei Dublin trotzen seit dem Frühjahr 2019 drei moderne, blockförmige Wohnhäuser mit weißen Mauern und dunkler Prefalz-Fassade in P.10 Anthrazit den rauen Wetterbedingungen an der Dublin Bay. Mit ihrem auffälligen Design und der dunklen Farbgebung heben sich die stilvollen High-End-Wohnungen, welche aus der Feder vom Architekten Fred Wilson von Adrian Hill Architects stammen, stark von den anderen Häusern in ihrer Umgebung ab. Ein gewagter Schritt, der mit den Jahren weitere Bauvorhaben in der Umgebung inspirierte.

Gartenansicht, Ouvane, Strandhaus, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Irland, Fassadengestaltung, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 Anthrazit

Plötzliche Wetterumschwünge, peitschender Wind und viel Regen: In der Bucht von Dublin ist man die Launen der Natur gewohnt, doch sie können sich auch an Gebäuden in meeresnaher Lage über die Jahre hinweg abzeichnen. „Bei der Farb- und Materialwahl war es uns wichtig, auf Langlebigkeit und Umweltfreundlichkeit zu achten“, so Fred Wilson, leitender Architekt beim Ouvane-Projekt. Er ist hier aufgewachsen und kennt die Gegend wie seine Westentasche. Umso besonderer war es, als ihn sein Entwurf der Ouvane Strandhäuser nach Sutton, Dublin zurückzog.

Fred Wilson, Adrian Hill, Architekten, bei der Arbeit
Adrian Hill (l.) und Fred Wilson (r.)

Vision des Architekten

Im sonst so lebendigen Büro von Adrian Hill Architects herrscht Corona-bedingt Funkstille. Normalerweise arbeitet man hier gemeinsam und ist ständig miteinander in Kontakt. „Wir legen großen Wert auf eine soziale Atmosphäre und begegnen einander auf persönlicher Ebene – sogar unsere Kunden rufen uns auf unseren privaten Handynummern an“, erzählt Fred Wilson. Für den Leiter des Dubliner Architektenbüros, der sich unter anderem auf gehobene Wohnhäuser spezialisiert, sind Projekte wie das Strandhaus-Trio an der Dublin Bay prinzipiell nichts neues. Dennoch gab es auch hier ein paar planerische Herausforderungen. „Das Grundstück ist zwar breit, doch es hat eine recht schmale Tiefe zum Strand hin. Zudem stehen die Objekte direkt an der Hauptstraße, während der hintere Teil auf den Strand ausgerichtet ist“, so Wilson. Die Wohnhäuser waren aus planerischer Sicht nicht ganz einfach zu entwerfen, doch laut dem Architekten „wird das Design so besser, weil man gezwungen ist, seine gewohnten Denkmuster zu durchbrechen“.

Straßenansicht, Daemmerung, Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, drei Strandhaeuser, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Irland, Fassadengestaltung, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 Anthrazit
Fassadenabschluesse, Fassadendetail, Fassadengestaltung, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 Anthrazit

Ein hochwertiges Design

Der Anspruch des Architektenteams, „Gebäude und Räume mit einem simplen, konsistenten Zugang zu hochwertigem Design“ zu entwerfen, spiegelt sich auch in den Strandhäusern an der Greenfield Road wider: Die dunkle Prefalz-Fassade ist vor eine weiße Wand aus Backsteinelementen gesetzt, welche die Fassade visuell abrunden. Zudem verfügt die Straßenseite über unterschiedlich große Fenster, die einen dazu verleiten, einen flüchtigen Blick in den Innerraum zu erhaschen. Sieht man zu viel? Laut Wilson nicht, denn während auf der Strandseite des Hauses mit viel Glas und großen Fensterfronten gearbeitet wurde, sind die Innenräume auf der Straßenseite gut vor neugierigen Blicken geschützt.

Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, drei Strandhaeuser, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Irland, Fassadengestaltung, PREFA, Prefalz, P.10 Anthrazit

Eine starke Fassade

Fred Wilson wusste von vornherein, dass für die Fassade Metall verwendet werden sollte, und so landete er mit seinen Recherchen schnell bei PREFA. Da er bereits bei anderen Projekten mit PREFA Produkten in Kontakt gekommen war, wusste er um deren Beständigkeit: „Die Farbe hält länger und wir wollten auch eine umweltfreundliche Lösung“, erklärt der Architekt. Beim Ouvane-Projekt sollten die Fassade und die Fenster dieselbe Farbe haben – nicht nur, um der gestalterischen Gesamtkomposition gerecht zu werden: Während sich die drei Häuser von ihrer architektonischen Umgebung abheben, verschmelzen sie aufgrund ihrer dunklen Farbgebung bei einer Sicht auf den Küstenabschnitt mit der umliegenden Landschaft. Ein weiterer, besonderer Farbakzent: Je nach Wetter und Tageszeit nimmt die Fassade unterschiedliche Farben an – von einem wolkigen Grau bis zu einem dunkelschimmernden Blau.

Küstenaufnahme, Strand, Meer, Adrian Hill Architects, Ouvane, drei Strandhaeuser, Sutton, Dublin Bay, Irland

Prefalz auf der grünen Insel

Dass für die Fassade Prefalz verwendet wurde, ist unter anderem Paul Johnston, dem technischen Vertriebsleiter für die Republik Irland und Nordirland bei PREFA zu verdanken. Er stand in Kontakt zur Spenglerfirma PAD Roofing und machte sie auf das Material aufmerksam. „Prefalz ist ideal für Stehfalz-Dachdeckung und -Bekleidung in Irland. Aluminium ist korrosionsbeständig, rostet nicht und die Prefalz-Ausführungen sind sehr resistent gegenüber der meersalzhaltigen Luft. Außerdem ist Prefalz auch aufgrund der Material- und Farbgarantie besonders gefragt“, so Johnston. Klare Gründe, die mitunter die Beliebtheit des langlebigen Materials auf der grünen Insel erklären, die für ihre zahlreichen schroffen, malerischen Küsten und ihre unberechenbaren Wetterumschwünge bekannt ist. 2020 wurden in Irland mehr als 150 Tonnen Prefalz-Aluminium verkauft – und laut Johnston sieht es so aus, als würde dieser Trend bestehen.

arrow_forward

Wohnhausreihe Ouvane

Land: Irland
Objekt, Ort: Wohnhausreihe, Ouvane
Kategorie: Neubau
Architektur: Adrian Hill Architects
Verarbeiter: Pad Roofing Ltd
Material: ➔ Prefalz
Farbe: P.10 Anthrazit

Text und Interview: Anneliese Heinisch
Fotos: © Gareth Byrne Photography

CLUE

PREFA hat mit der Dialog-Plattform PREFARENZEN ein Forum zur Weiterentwicklung innovativer und architektonisch hochwertiger Dach- und Fassadenlösungen aus Aluminium geschaffen.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.