Insight: Auer Weber, Munich

With currently more than 140 employees, Auer Weber belongs to the largest companies in the building industry. The architects’ designs have shaped major projects across Germany for decades – and in the meantime also internationally. The founders Fritz Auer and Carlo Weber remain unforgotten. They implemented a successful generational change in a foresighted manner: Today, five managing directors are in charge of two office locations together with founder Auer as a consultant and seven other partners. Reinventing oneself without having to start from scratch seems to be one of the strengths of Auer Weber. For the series “Insight”, PREFARENZEN interviewed Moritz Auer, one of the managing directors, to give you a glimpse of the office in Munich.

Very extensive

Auer Weber work from Munich and Stuttgart. Whoever has studied architecture is certainly familiar with the Southern German office from numerous reports in specialist journals. You can say that the architects are very conscious of details, but they are also open for an extremely large scale. That is also why Moritz Auer describes the office’s portfolio as “very extensive”. Its realisations include, among others, complex residential buildings, office buildings, universities, schools, sports facilities and the refurbished “Inselhalle” in Lindau on Lake Constance, which is characterised by its geometrically striking PREFA roof landscape consisting of 38 individual surfaces.

Inselhalle, Lindau, roof, Falzonal

Developing a broad expertise

How does the office develop its expertise in various building tasks? This happens almost exclusively through competition designs, which – as is not unusual for architecture offices – are continuously produced in fixed teams. Auer Weber submit 40 to 50 designs each year. Working on competitions is like cooking without a recipe, according to the office diary Auer Weber call “AW365”. The book contains important thoughts and projects, is published once a year and is a joint product of the network around Auer Weber. It illustrates and strengthens the architects’ collectivist aspiration as well as their multilayered areas of activity.

International visibility

In the competitions sector, Auer Weber are internationally successful “without a recipe”. They were able to realise quite a bit due to wins e.g. in China, Germany and France. The office, which formerly focused on Southern Germany, has been working on international projects and with an international community of employees. For instance, in order to be able to realise objects in France, experts with corresponding construction and design experience were taken on board. The office has persisted with its character and also economically due to this openness. Is it a question of not having a recipe when it comes to why Auer Weber are continuously expanding? Or rather a question of the office culture and the structures? The fact that the employees’ individual capabilities can be considered and promoted much more in the large office – so potentials can be used in an optimised way – is of a structural nature.

Speaking of structure

A big team operates at the top, and all the other departments also work in a team-oriented manner. Auer Weber is organized in many compact work units that solve and implement their tasks independently. Of course, the bosses make the final conceptual and economic decision. But Moritz Auer tells us in a relaxed tone that what Auer Weber wants to do and achieve “cannot work without trust and a scope for decision-making”. He reflects on his own role and knows that, as managing director of an office with 140 employees, he is not involved in all the decisions. This also includes not knowing every project in detail. “It is usually the case that an average of 30 projects run at the same time at one office location. In the management team, we decide who is responsible for which project and work in project clusters,” as Auer states. They are “a large, constant, but movable organism and not a classical mastermind office.” The chances this operating principle engenders for every single employee are independence, changing roles throughout a career and an exchange of experience between generations and departments.

Becoming more female – definitely, yes please!

An organism like Auer Weber is continuously on the lookout for new employees, which “isn’t easy” in Munich at the moment, according to Auer. And when asked about the gender gap in the leadership positions in the office, his reply is somewhat surprising. Women are definitely promoted to top positions in the office. But unfortunately, it can generally be observed that fewer and fewer young architects want to take on the great responsibility – regardless of gender.

Spaces between desks and dynamics

The office in Munich extends across three storeys of a former factory building. Two of them are used as a classical office. The third one is an open and collective space, where big meetings take place and table tennis is played. One of the employees’ favourite places is a gallery bridge above the courtyard, from where you can observe the terrace of an Italian restaurant and the many other offices in the neighbourhood. In the dynamic everyday operations of Auer Weber, it is where you can make a well-deserved pit stop and take a quick, deep breath.

You’ve got to have material

Taking a deep breath also means for Auer Weber and its employees that they can weigh the pros and cons of decisions relating to what is necessary regarding the choice of materials on a daily basis, for instance. “Materials are an absolutely pivotal subject in the design. And we already address relating questions in the competitions,” Moritz Auer explains. “Is it mineral? Is it massive, lightweight or something textile?” According to him, it is impossible to “think architecture” without construction, surface qualities and impression. He is personally interested in serially produced materials and assumes that there is a larger development potential in the industry than in pure craftsmanship.

Either – or

Decisions are indispensable in the everyday life of an architect. Therefore, with a twinkle in our eyes, we explicitly asked Mr. Auer to choose between terms related to building: Either – or?

Text: Claudia Gerhäusser
Photos & Videos: Croce & Wir

CLUE

With the PREFARENZEN dialogue platform, PREFA created a forum for the further development of innovative and architecturally sophisticated roof and façade solutions made of aluminium.

This site uses cookies to ensure the functionality of this website. While some are essential for use, Analytics & Performance Cookies can be used to personalize relevant content and advertising placements.MORE

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

Einblick: Auer Weber, München

Auer Weber gehört mit aktuell mehr als 140 Mitarbeitern zu den größeren Unternehmen der Baubranche. Die Entwürfe der Architekten prägen seit Jahrzehnten deutschlandweit Großprojekte – mittlerweile gezielt auch international. Gründer Fritz Auer und Carlo Weber sind unvergessen. Sie setzten vorausschauend einen gelungenen Generationenwechsel um: Fünf Geschäftsführer leiten heute zusammen mit Gründer Auer als Berater und sieben weiteren Partnern zwei Bürostandorte. Sich neu zu erfinden und trotzdem nicht bei null anzufangen, scheint eine der Stärken von Auer Weber zu sein. PREFARENZEN hat bei Moritz Auer, einem der Geschäftsführer, nachgefragt und zeigt im Rahmen der Serie „Einblick“ das Büro in München.

Sehr umfassend

Auer Weber arbeiten von München und Stuttgart aus. Wer Architektur studiert hat, kennt das süddeutsche Büro aus unzähligen Reportagen in Fachzeitschriften. Man kann die Architekten als besonders detailgenau und trotzdem für den extrem großen Maßstab zu haben beschreiben. Moritz Auer bezeichnet deshalb das eigene Projektportfolio als „sehr umfassend“. Zu den Realisierungen gehören unter anderem komplexe Wohnbauten, Bürogebäude, Universitäten, Schulen, Sportstätten und die mit einer geometrisch auffälligen PREFA Dachlandschaft aus 38 Einzelflächen sanierte Inselhalle in Lindau am Bodensee.

Inselhalle, Lindau, Dach, Falzonal

Eine breite Expertise entwickeln

Wie entwickelt das Büro seine breite Expertise in den unterschiedlichen Bauaufgaben? Das geschieht fast ausschließlich durch Wettbewerbsentwürfe, die – für Architekturbüros nicht unüblich – in festen Teams fortlaufend produziert werden. 40 bis 50 Entwürfe pro Jahr werden von Auer Weber eingereicht. Wettbewerbe zu bearbeiten sei so wie Kochen ohne Rezept ist im Bürotagebuch zu lesen, das Auer Weber „AW365“ nennen und in dem sie wichtige Gedanken und Projekte einmal jährlich publizieren. Das Buch ist ein Gemeinschaftsprodukt des Netzwerks um Auer Weber. Es zeigt und stärkt den kollektivistischen Anspruch und die vielschichtigen Tätigkeitsbereiche der Architekten.

International sichtbar sein

Auf der Wettbewerbsschiene sind Auer Weber mit „ohne Rezept“ international erfolgreich. Durch Gewinne z. B. in China, Deutschland und Frankreich wurde vieles umgesetzt. Als ehemals nur regional in Süddeutschland agierendes Büro wird mittlerweile gezielt an internationalen Projekten und mit einer internationalen Mitarbeitergemeinschaft gearbeitet. Um etwa Gebäude in Frankreich umsetzen zu können, holte man Verantwortliche mit entsprechenden Bau- und Entwurfserfahrungen an Bord. Das Büro konnte in seinem Charakter und wirtschaftlich auch wegen dieser Offenheit bestehen. Eine Frage der Rezeptlosigkeit also, dass Auer Weber weiter ausbaut? Oder eher eine Frage der Bürokultur und der Strukturen? Dass in dem großen Büro viel stärker individuelle Fähigkeiten der Mitarbeiter berücksichtigt und gefördert werden können – damit Potenziale optimaler genutzt werden – ist strukturbedingt.

Apropos Struktur

An der Spitze agiert ein großes Team und auch in allen anderen Abteilungen wird teamorientiert gearbeitet. Auer Weber ist in vielen kompakten Arbeitseinheiten organisiert, die ihre Aufgaben eigenständig lösen und umsetzen. Klar entscheiden konzeptionell und ökonomisch in letzter Instanz die Chefs. Moritz Auer erzählt aber entspannt, dass das, was Auer Weber machen und wollen, „ohne Vertrauen und Entscheidungsspielräume nicht funktioniert“. Er reflektiert seine eigene Rolle, weiß, dass er als Geschäftsführer eines 140-köpfigen Büros nicht an allen Entscheidungen beteiligt ist. Das heißt auch, nicht jedes Projekt im Detail zu kennen. „An einem Standort laufen durchschnittlich 30 Projekte zeitgleich. Wir teilen uns im Führungsteam auf, wer welches Projekt hauptverantwortlich betreut und arbeiten in Projektclustern“, so Auer. Man sei „ein großer, beständiger, aber beweglicher Organismus und kein klassisches Mastermind-Büro“. Die Chancen dieser Arbeitsweise für jeden Einzelnen sind Eigenständigkeit, wechselnde Rollen im Laufe einer Karriere und der Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen den Generationen und Fachbereichen.

Weiblicher werden, ja bitte unbedingt!

Für einen Organismus wie Auer Weber werden kontinuierlich neue Mitarbeiter gesucht. „Nicht einfach“ sei das aktuell in München, laut Auer. Und angesprochen auf den Gendergap bei den Führungspositionen im Büro, überrascht seine Antwort. Unbedingt werden Frauen im Büro bis ganz nach oben befördert. Aber generell – völlig unabhängig von Geschlechtern – entschieden sich leider immer weniger junge Architekten für die ganz große Verantwortung.

Räume zwischen Schreibtisch und Dynamik

Das Büro in München verteilt sich auf drei Etagen eines ehemaligen Fabrikgebäudes. Zwei davon werden als klassisches Büro genutzt. Die dritte ist ein offener und kollektiver Raum, in dem sowohl große Meetings stattfinden als auch Tischtennis gespielt wird. Beliebter Ort der Mitarbeiter ist eine Galeriebrücke über dem Hof, von der aus man die Terrasse eines italienischen Restaurants und die vielen anderen Büros der Nachbarschaft beobachten kann. Im dynamischen Alltagsbetrieb von Auer Weber ist das der Platz für schnelles Luftholen und den unverzichtbaren Boxenstopp.

Material muss sein

Luftholen heißt für Auer Weber und die Mitarbeiter auch, Entscheidungen noch einmal abzuwägen, was täglich z. B. bezogen auf die Wahl der Materialien notwendig ist. „Materialien sind absolut zentrales Thema im Entwurf. Dazugehörige Fragen thematisieren wir bereits in den Wettbewerben“, erklärt Moritz Auer. „Ist das mineralisch? Ist das massiv, leicht oder etwas Textiles?“ Ohne Konstruktion, Oberflächenqualitäten und Anmutung kann man Architektur seiner Meinung nach nicht denken. Persönlich interessieren ihn seriell gefertigte Materialien. Auer vermutet ein größeres Entwicklungspotenzial in der Industrie als im reinen Handwerk.

Entweder – oder

Entscheidungen sind unverzichtbar im Architektenalltag. Deshalb haben wir explizit und nicht ohne ein Augenzwinkern Herrn Auer zu Begriffen des Bauens vor die Wahl gestellt: Entweder – oder?

Text: Claudia Gerhäusser
Fotos & Videos: Croce & Wir

CLUE

PREFA hat mit der Dialog-Plattform PREFARENZEN ein Forum zur Weiterentwicklung innovativer und architektonisch hochwertiger Dach- und Fassadenlösungen aus Aluminium geschaffen.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.