Bratislava – industrial monument newly interpreted

– ein fünfstöckiger vormaliger Gärkeller

The Slovakian architectural office Bouda Masár was responsible for a sophisticated revaluation of the listed Spilka building. Spilka means ‘fermenting cellar’ or ‘premises for fermentation’. The reconstruction of the cupola roof and the connected modernisation of the entire building on the historic grounds of the former Stein brewery are the striking outcome. In addition, the Prefalz covering in P.10 patina green also greatly contributed to the fact that the cupola shines once again with its radiance of the past.

The essence of architecture is to make a statement that goes beyond the purely functional and touches people.

Alexander Freiherr von Branca

Only a stone’s throw away

Churches are also typically considered as monuments of bygone eras. One example would be the simple, modern protestant church that was built under the direction of the architect Milan Michal Harminc and is attributed to traditional functionalism. Its tower is enthroned with a historic copper roof including a cross, which considerably influenced the choice of material for the Spilka cupola, “which was originally going to be covered in dark-grey zinc,” as architect Ivan Masár tells us. The choice was made to use Prefalz in P.10 patina green “because the appearance of the last two historic buildings of the entire block of houses should be preserved.” There is no comparable material that has the benefits of colourfulness and permanence in the area of monument protection to this extent.

Collaboration is key

PREFA object consultant and engineer Gabriel Boros proudly states: “We worked in a team where collaboration had top priority.” The project was accompanied “by a constant exchange of constructive ideas and different approaches.” Approaches of architects who tried to break away from the tradition they had been immersed in. Of historians and preservationists who were consulted, as preserving this industrial heritage was jointly regarded as a natural concern. And, finally, of experienced specialists of the general contractor Global System, whom Boros supported with his engineering skills during the entire project.

An administration building in uncertain times

In cooperation with the real estate developer MiddleCap, the architects entered the project as the construction work on the flattened premises around them was already in full swing. Under the direction of fellow architect Ivan Kubík, the new, simply named „Quartier Stein 2“ was created. Right next to it and to a certain extent part of it, →office spaces with about 2.100 m2 on five storeys were realised in the Spilka building. The cupola, the multicellular window openings that are so typical of functionalism and even preserved fragments of the interior spaces – the mushroom-shaped column heads tiled in white and the fermenting basin – could be used expediently. 

The mess of pipes, tubing and cable paths has given way to a clear and sublime reduction. No wonder, as Peter Bouda and Ivan Masár are from the city and are thus confronted with the impressive architecture of past generations of architects on a daily basis. Maybe that is why they are so good at revitalisations inspired by this kind of architecture? Their previous projects, such as Bratislava Castle and the building of the former Hungarian Chamber of Commerce on Gorkého No. 4 clearly bear witness to this. At the moment, they are busy with the design plans of the interior spaces for two of the Spilka storeys, among other things.

Due to the pandemic and the changed requirements for administrative premises, Róbert Michalica, who is the Head of MiddleCap Real Estate Slovakia, is aware that they “will not be able to be solely assessed based on the factors location and design in the future.” Yet he maintains that “the room heights of up to five and a half metres are characterised by a beauty that needs to be used in a versatile way” – particularly after the pandemic. First steps in this direction have already been made: The premises on the ground floor and the cellar, which were jointly designed by Bouda Masár and the current Head of the Slovak Chamber of Architects Ilja Skoček Jun., are being rented by the famous Czech brewery Svijany. And it is nice to hear that some things are being repeated – the continuation of architectural functions and the revitalisation of industrial architecture. In a respectful manner, of course.

Reconstruction of the cupola roof

In the mid 1950s, the Spilka cupola, with its point that reaches up to a height of 36,43 metres, became the landmark of the Blumentál district. Between 1872 and the closure of the brewery in 2007, the site comprised several housing blocks and various functional buildings to store and process yeast. But after some time, most of them noticeably decayed. Only the Spilka was placed under monument protection. All of the other buildings gave way to the multifunctional living and office quarter Stein 2. The reconstruction of the cupola began in 2017, right after the first detailed evaluations with the removal of its outer copper shell. Despite the aggressive environmental conditions, the reinforced concrete shell surprisingly did not lose any of its static properties. After removing biological contaminants such as mosses, lichens and bird droppings, the renovation of the surface began.

Gabriel Boros and Norbert Štefan, Project Manager of the cupola reconstruction, jointly designed an ingenious design proposal to preserve its visual appearance. Engineer Štefan says in retrospect: “Before we began our work, we performed tensile tests to determine the cupola’s stability. We carried them out at all altitudes and from all sides”.

Compared with the non-insulated, historic execution, the following layers are now under the 0,7 mm strong Prefalz aluminium skin: asphalt strips; large-panel formwork made of custom-made timber rafters; a back ventilation gap; security vapor open underlays; a bottom rafter insulation with mineral wool; the wooden framework structure with L steel profiles; a primer coating of repair mortar, to counteract the slight and only punctually occurring porosity in the long term; and finally, the retained original main structure made of reinforced concrete.

In the final phase, a roof gutter was installed as the logical endpoint of the façade, which is slighly pulled down towards the terrace. The roof is closed against every direction with its snow guards and additional snow barriers. The advantage: PREFA can also deliver them in P.10 patina green.

A new-old appearance

Finally, it must be mentioned that the entire realisation was carried out in a historically accurate manner and in the pulse of time from a technical standpoint. This is aptly symbolised by an architectural trick envisaged by Bouda Masár – an inverted glass pyramid was installed through a construction opening in the cupola’s vertex. Ivan Masár tells us that “with the help of a mirror placed inside it, the sunlight is reflected into the inside of the cupola during the day. And at night, the interior lighting is reflected into the sky of Bratislava and the revitalised, former Stein area based on the historical model.”

Text & Interviews: Marlon T. L. Fink
Photography: Martin Croce, Gabriel Boros, Peter Bouda & Ivan Masár, Stefan Cipar & Martin Matula 
Rendering: Peter Bouda & Ivan Masár
Archival Images: KPU Bratislava (Denkmalschutzbehörde)
arrow_forward

PREFA products

You can find the products mentioned in the article here:
➔ Roof system Prefalz

CLUE

With the PREFARENZEN dialogue platform, PREFA created a forum for the further development of innovative and architecturally sophisticated roof and façade solutions made of aluminium.

This site uses cookies to ensure the functionality of this website. While some are essential for use, Analytics & Performance Cookies can be used to personalize relevant content and advertising placements.MORE

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

Bratislava – Industriedenkmal neu interpretiert

– ein fünfstöckiger vormaliger Gärkeller

Dem slowakischen Architekturbüro Bouda Masár gelang eine anspruchsvolle Aufwertung des denkmalgeschützten Spilka-Gebäudes. Spilka, das bedeutet übersetzt ‚Gärkeller‘ oder ‚Räumlichkeiten für die Fermentierung‘. Die Rekonstruktion des Kuppeldaches und die damit verbundene Modernisierung des gesamten Gebäudes auf dem geschichtsträchtigen Areal der vormaligen Stein-Brauerei sind das sehenswerte Resultat. Nicht zuletzt, weil die Kuppel dank der Prefalz-Bekleidung in P.10 Patinagrün wieder mit der Strahlkraft vergangener Tage erscheint.

Das Wesen der Architektur ist, über das rein Zweckhafte hinaus eine Aussage zu machen, die den Menschen berührt.

Alexander Freiherr von Branca

Nur einen Steinwurf entfernt

Andere Wahrzeichen vergangener Epochen sind typischerweise Kirchen. Zum Beispiel die schlicht moderne evangelische Kirche, die unter der Leitung vom Architekten Milan Michal Harminc erbaut wurde. Sie wird dem traditionellen Funktionalismus zugeschrieben. Unverkennbar thront auf ihrem Turm ein historisches Kupferdach inklusive ausgebildetem Kreuz. Dies nahm einen nicht unwesentlichen Einfluss auf die Materialwahl für die Spilka-Kuppel, „für welche zuerst eine Bekleidung in dunkelgrauem Zink geplant war“, erzählt Architekt Ivan Masár. Für Prefalz in P.10 Patinagrün entschied man sich, „weil die Optik der letzten beiden historischen Gebäudebestände des gesamten Häuserblocks gewahrt werden sollte“. Es gibt kein anderes Material, das im Bereich des Denkmalschutzes die Vorzüge von Farbigkeit und Permanenz derartig aufweist.

Kollaboration ist der Weg

Der PREFA Objektberater und Ingenieur Gabriel Boros berichtet stolz: „Wir arbeiteten in einem Team, in welchem die Kollaboration als oberste Priorität galt“. Das Projekt war “von einem stetigen Austausch konstruktiver Gedanken und unterschiedlicher Betrachtungsweisen“ begleitet. Betrachtungen der Architekten, die sich aus einer Tradition kommend gleichzeitig von dieser zu lösen suchten. Jener der Historiker und Denkmalschützer, die man konsultierte, weil man gemeinsam den Erhalt dieses Industrieerbes als selbstverständliches Anliegen empfand. Und nicht zuletzt jener der erfahrenen Spezialisten vom Generalunternehmer Global System, denen Boros in der Ingenieurskunst tatkräftig zur Seite stand.

Ein Verwaltungsgebäude in unsteten Zeiten

In Kooperation mit dem Immobilienentwickler MiddleCapnahmen sichdie Architekten dem Projekt an als die Bauarbeiten am planierten Areal rundherum schon in vollem Gange waren. Unter der Leitung von Architektenkollege Ivan Kubík entstand das schlicht benannte, neue Quartier Stein 2. Direkt daran angrenzend und gewissermaßen als ein Teil davon, entstanden im Spilka-Gebäude →Büroflächen mit knapp 2.100 m2 auf fünf Etagen. Die Kuppel, die für den Funktionalismus typischen vielzelligen Fensteröffnungen und selbst erhaltene Fragmente in den Innenräumen – die weiß gefliesten Pilzköpfe der Säulen und Teile der Gärbecken – konnten zweckdienlich übernommen werden.

Das unüberschaubare Wirrwarr an Rohren, Schläuchen- und Kabelwegen ist nun einer klaren und erhabenen Reduktion gewichen.Nicht verwunderlich, denn Peter Bouda und Ivan Masár sind gebürtige Hauptstädter und somit tagtäglich mit der beeindruckenden Architektur vorheriger Architektengenerationen konfrontiert. Vielleicht liegt ihnen deshalb diese Spielart der daran orientierten Revitalisierungen so gut? Ihre vorangegangenen Projekte zeugen jedenfalls gleichermaßen davon – die Burg Bratislava und das Gebäude der ehemaligen ungarischen Handelskammer in der Straße →Gorkého Nummer 4. Momentan ist man unter anderem mit Plänen zur Gestaltung der Innenräume für zwei der Spilka-Stockwerke beschäftigt.

Róbert Michalica, Leiter der MiddleCap Real Estate Slovakia, ist sich aufgrund der Pandemie und den veränderten Anforderungen an administrative Räumlichkeiten darüber bewusst, dass sie „künftig nicht mehr ausschließlich über die Faktoren Standort oder Design bewertet werden können“. Er hält aber daran fest, dass „den Raumhöhen von bis zu fünfeinhalb Metern eine Schönheit inne wohnt, die es möglichst vielseitig zu bespielen gilt“. Insbesondere nach der Pandemie. Erste Schritte in diese Richtung konnten bereits gemacht werden: Die von Bouda Masár und dem derzeitigen Leiter der slowakischen Architektenkammer Ilja Skoček Jun. gemeinsam gestalteten Räumlichkeiten im Erdgeschoss und Keller sind an die bekannte tschechische Brauerei Svijany vermietet worden. Umso schöner, wenn sich manches wiederholt – wie das Weiterführen architektonischer Funktionen und die Revitalisierung von Industriearchitektur. Respektvoll, versteht sich.

Wiederaufbau des Kuppeldaches

Seit Mitte der 1950er Jahre wurde die Spilka-Kuppel mit ihrer Spitze in 36,43 Metern Höhe zum Wahrzeichen des Stadtviertels Blumentál. Zwischen 1872 und der Schließung der Brauerei 2007 umfasste das Gelände mehrere Häuserblocks und unterschiedlichste Zweckgebäude zur Lagerung und Verarbeitung von Hefe. Ein Gros dieser verfiel danach jedoch zusehends. Nur die Spilka wurde unter Denkmalschutz gesetzt. Alle anderen Gebäude wichen dem multifunktionalen Wohn- und Büroquartier Stein 2. Die Rekonstruktion der Kuppel startete man 2017 umgehend nach den ersten detaillierten Begutachtungen mit dem Abtragen ihrer Kupfer-Außenhülle. Trotz der aggressiven Umgebungsbedingungen hat die Stahlbetonschale erstaunlicherweise keine ihrer statischen Eigenschaften verloren. Nach der Entfernung von biologischen Verunreinigungen wie Moosen, Flechten und Vogelmist, begann man mit der Sanierung der Oberfläche.

Gabriel Boros und Norbert Štefan, der Projektleiter der Kuppelrekonstruktion, erarbeiteten gemeinsam einen genialen Entwurfsvorschlag zur Erhaltung des Erscheinungsbildes. Ingenieur Štefan sagt rückblickend: „Vor Beginn unserer Arbeiten führten wir Zugversuche zum Test der Beständigkeit der Kuppel durch. Wir machten diese in allen Höhenstufen und von allen Seiten aus“.

Unter der 0,7 mm starken Prefalz-Aluminiumhaut sind nun im Vergleich zur ungedämmten, historischen Ausführung folgende Schichten: Asphaltstreifen; eine Flächenschalung aus passgenau zugeschnittenen Holzsparren; ein Hinterlüftungsspalt; Sicherheitsdiffusionsfolien; eine Untersparrendämmung mit Mineralwolle; das Fachwerk aus einem Holzgerippe und L-Stahlprofilen; eine Dampfsperre aus SBS-modifizierten und selbstklebenden Asphaltstreifen mit Aluminiumfolie; eine Grundierung aus Reparaturmörtel, um der leichten und nur puntkuell aufgetretenen Porosität langfristig entgegenzuwirken; und zu guter Letzt die beibehaltene ursprüngliche Haupttragstruktur aus Stahlbeton.

In der letzten Phase wurde eine Dachrinne als logischer Endpunkt der zur Terrasse leicht heruntergezogenen Fassade installiert. Das Dach wiederum ist durch Schneefänge und zusätzliche Schneesperren gegen alle Himmelsrichtungen abgeschlossen. Der Vorteil dabei: PREFA liefert selbst diese in der Ausführung P.10 Patinagrün.

Im neu-alten Antlitz

Abschließend muss man festhalten, dass die ganzheitliche Umsetzung technisch am Puls der Zeit und historisch akkurat gelungen ist. Am besten symbolisiert dies ein architektonischer Kniff der Herren Bouda Masár – eine umgekehrte Glaspyramide wurde durch eine Konstruktionsöffnung im Scheitelpunkt der Kuppel installiert. Ivan Masár erzählt uns, dass „mithilfe eines darin platzierten Spiegels tagsüber Sonnenlicht ins Innere der Kuppel reflektiert wird. Und auch nachts wird die Innenbeleuchtung nach historischem Vorbild in den Himmel Bratislavas und das revitalisierte, ehemalige Stein-Areal transportiert“.

Text & Interviews: Marlon T. L. Fink
Foto: Martin Croce, Gabriel Boros, Peter Bouda & Ivan Masár, Stefan Cipar & Martin Matula 
Rendering: Peter Bouda & Ivan Masár
Archivaufnahmen: KPU Bratislava (Denkmalschutzbehörde)
arrow_forward

PREFA Produkt-Direktlinks

Hier finden Sie die im Artikel angeführten Produkte:
➔ Dachsystem Prefalz

CLUE

PREFA hat mit der Dialog-Plattform PREFARENZEN ein Forum zur Weiterentwicklung innovativer und architektonisch hochwertiger Dach- und Fassadenlösungen aus Aluminium geschaffen.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um die Funktionalität dieser Website zu gewährleisten. Während einige für die Nutzung essentiell sind, können mit Analytics & Performance Cookies relevante Inhalte und Werbeplatzierungen personalisiert werden. MEHR

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.